A Guy in a Skewed World: Update

Okay, so I know it’s been awhile since I last updated this.  I think I left it a little too long.  Sorry about that.

Anyways, as I mentioned previously, I’ve been seeing a new rheumatologist for the last several months.  He and his staff have been wonderful.  They’ve even called me in on short notice after I called and said the meds they put me on didn’t seem to be working.  I was in their office for a scheduled appointment the next morning.

After a complete workup, including x-rays, blood tests, and a very thorough physical exam, he’s come to the conclusion that the FMS I’ve been dealing with for the last several years is a secondary condition.  The primary condition is an inflammatory arthritis (he’s not specified, yet but is leaning towards Rheumatoid Arthritis).  Since we started treating that with corticosteroids (prednisone) and methotrexate, most of the issues with my hands and feet have become bearable.  Along with that change, a good number of my FMS symptoms have come under control, as well.  They’re not gone, but they’re now at the level where I can deal with it.

Now, Methotrexate is a drug that has proven to work with RA, but it’s primary function (in much larger dosages than I am on) has been as a cancer treatment drug.  Because of this, the side effects can be rather intense.  Nausea, fatique, insomnia, loss of appetite, etc. are all part of the list of possible side effects.  I take it on Fridays, so that I’ve got all weekend to deal with the worst side effects to be able to work the following week.  Well, until the beginning of September, the side effects were so bad that I was out of work on Mondays quite frequently.  However, the docs made a change to the Floric Acid supplements I was taking (now a triple dose on the day before, day of, and day after taking the methotrexate).  Even with the boosted dosage they put me on, it’s made a world of difference.  I’m now able to do some things on the weekends where before I was practically incapacitated all weekend.  I’ve also managed to not miss any work for the last month.

Now, saying that, the first thought through a lot of people’s mind’s would be, “A month?  That’s not a big deal.”  Now, bear with me for a moment.  This is the first time in at least a year where I did not miss a single day of scheduled work time.  For me, that’s a big deal.

If anyone has any questions, feel free to drop me a line.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

